collapse

Author Topic: blocking mt4 live update  (Read 168 times)

Offline primi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
blocking mt4 live update
« on: January 08, 2017, 11:13:33 PM »
Hi,

is it still possible to block this annoying live update from automatically updating your MT4 terminal on restart? I have been successfully doing it for a long time but now it doesn't seem to work anymore. It looks to me that it just overwrites my files even if they are set as "read only".

I hate them for forcing updates uncontrollably.

Offline IFFTrader

  • RobinVOL
  • Sr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 585
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 02:07:42 AM »
You can embed /noupdate in the shortcut

Offline primi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2017, 07:29:13 AM »
Thanks, will try that.

At home on Win 7 it still works the old way but on my 2012 Server it doesn't. It looks to me like it just deletes the whole folder and makes a new one with the files in it. The trick with read only files doesn't work there for me anymore.

Offline IFFTrader

  • RobinVOL
  • Sr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 585
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2017, 01:34:33 AM »
It should work on 2012 server. I use this in all my vps

Offline primi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2017, 02:22:12 PM »
Yeah, it did work before and I was doing it that way for a long time. Perhaps they found a way around it. Have you checked recently? I noticed 2 weeks ago when I was doing my weekly restarts and suddenly my terminal updated to a new version. I deleted the folder and set everything up again to block it, and this sunday another terminal updated. Then I tested it with another restart and it doesn't work anymore. Perhaps it's just me but not sure.

Offline FXUSER

  • Verified Vendor
  • Jr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2017, 02:48:22 PM »

Hello

Since 2017 metaquotes not offer updates for MetaTrader 4, within 1-2 years we will have to change platform MetaTrader 5.

If you'll want to rewrite your system at the MT5, here you can find help http://www.mqlblue.com

Best Regards

Offline primi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 704
Re: blocking mt4 live update
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2017, 03:49:27 PM »
Finally. We didn't need any updates since 2013. They were just adding crap. For all I care I could be still running build 225.

 

* Recent Posts

Re: FxMath Harmonic Patterns Signals By Email by FxMath
[Yesterday at 08:12:44 PM]


Re: Easy Forex (ezefx.com) by El_KaPpa
[Yesterday at 07:52:41 PM]


Re: Dux Forex by dutchie
[Yesterday at 07:49:50 PM]


Re: Easy Forex (ezefx.com) by 999cjb
[Yesterday at 06:00:36 PM]


Re: FOREX - An Easy Way To Lose Money by equityfx
[Yesterday at 03:50:39 PM]


Re: Who is making money in Forex? by equityfx
[Yesterday at 03:47:15 PM]


Re: Easy Forex (ezefx.com) by El_KaPpa
[Yesterday at 02:51:19 PM]


Re: CabEX by PhiBase by WiZARD
[Yesterday at 02:33:52 PM]


Re: FourLeafClover EA from FourLeafClover FX by Ruairi OPleurisy
[Yesterday at 02:22:38 PM]


Re: Easy Forex (ezefx.com) by Ruairi OPleurisy
[Yesterday at 02:04:54 PM]