collapse

Author Topic: Backtesting EA - Historical Data  (Read 205 times)

Online dasher1980

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« on: September 10, 2018, 04:00:42 PM »
Am trying to backtest an EA, havent really done much on this. So need your help.

Whatever date I set as start date, it only goes back till April this year. I would like to see the results for the last 5Y. Does it mean I don't have this data? When I go to history center, I can click on download. But it doesnt tell me how much it downloads... Any way I can set the dates here to download?  Also tried to upload this data

https://www.forextester.com/historical-data

But when I want to import the file. The field below is empty and it doesnt seem to import anything. Is this the wrong format for MT4?

I would like to test for the 30M TF and I am using IC Markets.

Thanks!

Offline FLechdrop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2018, 04:13:36 PM »
Just click 'download' in the history center. That works for me for the last 10 years at least.

Online dasher1980

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2018, 04:19:11 PM »
When you download, it downloads the data from your broker or from Metatrader, think for me it downloads now from Metatrader.

Offline FLechdrop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2018, 04:24:33 PM »
Yes, from Metatrader. If you do not download in the history center, it uses the recent data collected from your broker.

Offline anjelo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
Re: Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2018, 05:09:57 PM »
Am trying to backtest an EA, havent really done much on this. So need your help.

Whatever date I set as start date, it only goes back till April this year. I would like to see the results for the last 5Y. Does it mean I don't have this data? When I go to history center, I can click on download. But it doesnt tell me how much it downloads... Any way I can set the dates here to download?  Also tried to upload this data

https://www.forextester.com/historical-data

But when I want to import the file. The field below is empty and it doesnt seem to import anything. Is this the wrong format for MT4?

I would like to test for the 30M TF and I am using IC Markets.

Thanks!

Make sure to go to Tools - Options and under the Charts tab, input the highest possible number in the Max bars in history and Max bars in chart. You can just enter 999999999999.... and hit OK.

Good luck.
Drawdown happens and will always happen.

Online dasher1980

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Backtesting EA - Historical Data
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2018, 07:30:21 PM »
Sorted guys! Have got data up to 1993 now.
Think I had to restart the terminal as well before it worked.

Thanks

 

browse forum

* Recent Posts

Re: OniKami Capital by krisz
[Today at 04:05:00 PM]


Re: Best Quotes by Eliza Abrams
[Today at 01:52:00 PM]


Re: Who makes a living on Forex??? by Eliza Abrams
[Today at 01:49:36 PM]


Re: Who makes a living on Forex??? by Loperte
[Today at 12:25:03 PM]


Re: EA Controller by diyforexskills
[Today at 05:24:33 AM]


Re: Forex Manager DBA by ForexManagerDBA
[Yesterday at 11:05:43 PM]


Re: InvestFund-EA.com by Humble Trader's Fx
[Yesterday at 10:44:29 PM]


Re: Forex Manager DBA by ForexManagerDBA
[Yesterday at 09:51:49 PM]


Re: InvestFund-EA.com by Humble Trader's Fx
[Yesterday at 06:08:50 PM]


Re: InvestFund-EA.com by FLechdrop
[Yesterday at 06:05:35 PM]