Donna Forex Forum

General => General Trading Discussion => Topic started by: Astronautas on August 23, 2019, 09:36:15 PM

Title: economic news in MT5
Post by: Astronautas on August 23, 2019, 09:36:15 PM
Very specific concern I have.

Ao, as I perceive, broker (broker's server) obtains economic news not exactly on announcing time. Let's say non farm payrolls announced 15:30:00:000 in USA, but broker's server is in London. Information should go long way throught all the Atlantic from USA to England. Even more longer time is needed to reach from broker's server to trader's MT5 (I concern MT4 obsolete allready).  So, is it possible to see somewhere in MT5 platform times information get in server and in platform?
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: drunkfx on August 26, 2019, 03:50:49 PM
Very specific concern I have.

Ao, as I perceive, broker (broker's server) obtains economic news not exactly on announcing time. Let's say non farm payrolls announced 15:30:00:000 in USA, but broker's server is in London. Information should go long way throught all the Atlantic from USA to England. Even more longer time is needed to reach from broker's server to trader's MT5 (I concern MT4 obsolete allready).  So, is it possible to see somewhere in MT5 platform times information get in server and in platform?

You will still need some time to read the announcement in the platform, no? It will take much longer time than, probably a couple of seconds
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: y5nitro on September 26, 2019, 02:10:39 PM
It probably means that your broker is taking news from somewhere (i.e. Reuters, Bloomberg) and uploading it to the platform. This is why you might experience delays, but they should not be longer than several seconds. I think that you might disuses your issue with your broker
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: Astronautas on September 29, 2019, 09:23:53 PM
It probably means that your broker is taking news from somewhere (i.e. Reuters, Bloomberg) and uploading it to the platform. This is why you might experience delays, but they should not be longer than several seconds.

Several seconds is eternity for news trader :-)
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: Hilapur on November 16, 2019, 03:54:02 PM
Astronautas, you are right. Indeed, when you are trading on fundamentals, then every second counts. I am not sure how to help you with this issue, except to propose you to start trading directly from Reuters trading platform. It costs a lot, but you will have 0 delays
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: Caesar99 on November 16, 2019, 08:53:07 PM
Sounds like another good reason for not trading news events
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: fxopen78 on November 17, 2019, 09:35:27 PM
Astronautas, you are right. Indeed, when you are trading on fundamentals, then every second counts. I am not sure how to help you with this issue, except to propose you to start trading directly from Reuters trading platform. It costs a lot, but you will have 0 delays

I have read if some big trader they dare to pay big cost to get leak of news, so they can act early than ordinary trader, in certain case before news released the movement already high rapidly, but after news released there is normal movement, some said big trader already take profit before news because they act early
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: Nuadagas on July 21, 2020, 06:29:09 PM
In fact, MT5 and MT4 are just different trading terminals with different capabilities and different functionality. And we choose exactly what we like based on our needs and wishes. And of course depending on the chosen strategy.
Title: Re: economic news in MT5
Post by: drunkfx on September 16, 2020, 05:12:27 AM
What news we can trade except well-known NFP? Can somebody mention some high-impact news which produce unambiguous price action (create momentum). I'm struggling to find news that more or less stable induce price breakouts.