collapse

Author Topic: Windows 7 Warning  (Read 7212 times)

Offline CAJUN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2010, 10:16:59 AM »
CAJUN,

If you want to take advantage of RAMs  (memory) bigger than 3MB, you need 64-bit.  

I have 4MB and want faster performance so I accepted the disadvantages of the 64-bit and took it.

So far, the disadvantages in my experience are:
-  some software need new version
-  some hardware need new drivers
-  UAC took too much control access fuss for a personal user like me; so I disabled  

I am not impressed though with Win 7.  Win office, win word, paint....all seems better in win xp.

Regards

j
j, thanks for the info, i do have 4GB and 640GB hard drive, at this point i am not looking for speed i am looking to straighten out my MT4 and getting it to perform like it was performing on XP.
As 999 pointed out, i myself have been getting updates hopefully it will straighten out itself like his did with more updates.
I also have another issue with Win7, i haven't been able to install my printer i keep getting a message that my printer is not compatable with Win7. Should i go out and purchase a new printer or should i wait and see if the updates will eventually straighten out that problem. I have 2 printers and it will not recognize neither one of them, what a fricking mess.

CAJUN
« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 10:36:43 AM by CAJUN »
"The return (OF) you money is more important than the return (ON) your money!"

Offline 999cjb

  • Gold Vendor
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6291
    • Easy Forex - No Hype No Pressure
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2010, 10:47:52 AM »
CAJUN,

If you want to take advantage of RAMs  (memory) bigger than 3MB, you need 64-bit.  

I have 4MB and want faster performance so I accepted the disadvantages of the 64-bit and took it.

So far, the disadvantages in my experience are:
-  some software need new version
-  some hardware need new drivers
-  UAC took too much control access fuss for a personal user like me; so I disabled  

I am not impressed though with Win 7.  Win office, win word, paint....all seems better in win xp.

Regards

j
j, thanks for the info, i do have 4GB and 640GB hard drive, at this point i am not looking for speed i am looking to straighten out my MT4 and getting it to perform like it was performing on XP.
As 999 pointed out, i myself have been getting updates hopefully it will straighten out itself like his did with more updates.
I also have another issue with Win7, i haven't been able to install my printer i keep getting a message that my printer is not compatable with Win7. Should i go out and purchase a new printer or should i wait and see if the updates will eventually straighten out that problem. I have 2 printers and it will not recognize neither one of them, what a fricking mess.

CAJUN

cajun. PM me with details of printers (make model etc.) also what type of interface you are using (parallel, USB RJ45 etc.) I'll see what I can do.

Offline CAJUN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2010, 12:24:34 PM »
999, did you receive my pm, last time i sent you one you said it bounced. Checked my settings everything seems o.k. for sending.

CAJUN
"The return (OF) you money is more important than the return (ON) your money!"

Offline 999cjb

  • Gold Vendor
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6291
    • Easy Forex - No Hype No Pressure
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2010, 12:57:11 PM »
999, did you receive my pm, last time i sent you one you said it bounced. Checked my settings everything seems o.k. for sending.

CAJUN

Yes. I've just sent your reply. We had a 30 sec power failure here. My live servers have UPS but not my development PC so I had to start again.

Offline jcadong5

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2010, 04:53:54 PM »
j, thanks for the info, i do have 4GB and 640GB hard drive, at this point i am not looking for speed i am looking to straighten out my MT4 and getting it to perform like it was performing on XP.
As 999 pointed out, i myself have been getting updates hopefully it will straighten out itself like his did with more updates.
I also have another issue with Win7, i haven't been able to install my printer i keep getting a message that my printer is not compatable with Win7. Should i go out and purchase a new printer or should i wait and see if the updates will eventually straighten out that problem. I have 2 printers and it will not recognize neither one of them, what a fricking mess.

CAJUN

The 'updates' may be important as they are the fixes to whatever original win 7 they released.  Try finish them first.

These 'updates' sometimes contain updated drivers.

If after the updates are done and the items you mentioned still doesnt work, then you need to get the new versions or drivers from the vendor  (e.g. from logitech for logitech cams).

 I also am not able to use my laser printer and other hardware.  I dont have time so I just borrow my wife's pc when I need to print something.

Remember that UAC can cause you headache so keep that in mind.

Offline DaveL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2010, 01:31:46 AM »
hi Caj

I run an encryption setup that creates a virtual drive that is uses a container file on a normal partition/folder. it's not unbreakable (DOD could etc) but at least there's a level of inconvenience, and most thieves probably wouldn't bother, just wipe the drives, but my view is "why make it easy for anyone to get to your private data" ;)

If you check out TrueCrypt or FreeOTFE you'll see what I mean. They don't take a lot of system resource with 3-layer encryption and is tolerant of abrupt shtdowns. FreeOTFE even works on PDA devices so my MT4 and personal stuff on my winMo phone is encrypted also ;D

On printers, some of the pre-W7 models may never get support from manufacturer re drivers etc, at least that seemed to be the word on the street from likes of HP on all-in-one printers, not exactly good customer support imho...
« Last Edit: October 17, 2010, 01:35:16 AM by DaveL »
starting over...

Offline 999cjb

  • Gold Vendor
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6291
    • Easy Forex - No Hype No Pressure
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2010, 09:38:27 AM »
Talking of support, beware if you try to revert a Windows 7 computer to XP. It's best to load XP onto a new hard drive and make sure the board manufacturer has all the XP drivers you need before committing.

Most manufacturers of new mainboards are no longer supplying drivers compatible with XP.

Offline DaveL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2010, 12:51:23 PM »
yep, I found the same with the HP DV7, drivers are on the support site, but booting the CD I had went fine up to the point where it was loading the OS where it blue-screened. Guess I could have tried a later XP build CD which may have had SP3 built in, but there's a limit to what's worth doing imho.

My laptop came with Vista (yukkk) and when I updated it to W7 I did exactly what CJ suggests, bought a second drive and installed to that (better to do a fresh install than upgrade). That way I had the option of a fast restart by just swapping the drives back over. Since my laptop can have 2 internal HDD's the old vista drive is now a storage area for media etc, or you could get a suitable external e-sata/USB case and use it as extra portable storage or for backup ;)
starting over...

Offline CAJUN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2010, 02:06:19 PM »
Hey guys, thanks for all the help and info, this stuff is very mind boggling. Seems like i am back in business, went out and purchased a new printer that was Win7 compatable. I redownloaded MT4 and reinstalled my robots, therefore the only issue i could have would be MT4 not operating correctly, will see what happens when market opens today.

Good Luck
CAJUN
"The return (OF) you money is more important than the return (ON) your money!"

Offline DaveL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
Re: Windows 7 Warning
« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2010, 02:14:13 PM »
cool, shout if you need further pointers with MT4 :)

Are you running MT4 under admin, or a user with admin rights?
It ain't ideal, but I have a seperate user set up to run the FX stuff, which is part of the admins group. Still, that's about all that server does and I don't browse from it so I can live with that for now ;)
starting over...

 

browse forum

* Recent Posts

Re: ForexGBPAvenger by donbon2
[Yesterday at 10:25:05 PM]


Re: Best Scalper by donbon2
[Yesterday at 10:23:31 PM]


Re: Best Scalper by pipsbuster
[Yesterday at 04:38:01 PM]


Re: Manipulation of price movement by y5nitro
[Yesterday at 11:27:54 AM]


Re: ForexGBPAvenger by LitnerGo
[Yesterday at 09:05:09 AM]


Re: Best Scalper by bestscalper
[Yesterday at 02:03:44 AM]


Re: FX Autotrader Elite by diyforexskills
[August 24, 2019, 08:38:43 AM]


Re: ForexGBPAvenger by bestscalper
[August 24, 2019, 03:47:00 AM]


Re: Automated Trading System on TRUMP Symbol by compujock
[August 23, 2019, 10:26:40 PM]


Re: Frero system by compujock
[August 23, 2019, 10:23:50 PM]