collapse

Author Topic: Alpari UK  (Read 6803 times)

Offline admin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
    • donnaforex.com
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2009, 05:01:32 PM »
Yes that is a good strategy right there :=) one which i use myself, hehe.
<b>Subscribe to my mailing list for updates, go to www.donnaforex.com</b>

Offline sweetpopcorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2009, 10:49:12 AM »
Yes that is a good strategy right there :=) one which i use myself, hehe.
Will I get the SAME results if I trade EUR/CHF under the SAME broker for these scenarios:

a.  1 lot EACH on 2 separate accounts
b.  2 lots on 1 account


Offline admin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
    • donnaforex.com
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2009, 12:16:24 PM »
I have a few Alpari accounts running side by side with FAPTurbo on them and they rarely match up in the trades they take.. so i've found it hard to compare that. I do know of some people trading 5 lots or so having major problems getting orders filled. It has been my experience that the alpari micro accounts trade slightly better than the classic ones too... were your two accounts you tested on the same account type or were they different?
<b>Subscribe to my mailing list for updates, go to www.donnaforex.com</b>

Offline sweetpopcorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2009, 04:57:23 PM »
I have a few Alpari accounts running side by side with FAPTurbo on them and they rarely match up in the trades they take.. so i've found it hard to compare that. I do know of some people trading 5 lots or so having major problems getting orders filled. It has been my experience that the alpari micro accounts trade slightly better than the classic ones too... were your two accounts you tested on the same account type or were they different?
Thanks for your input.  I was asking a hypothetical question as I couldn't figure out why people should open 2 accounts using the SAME EA and broker.
Since the micro works better, perhaps I should try 2 micros.

Offline fxloot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • fxloot
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2009, 09:48:28 PM »
I have a few Alpari accounts running side by side with FAPTurbo on them and they rarely match up in the trades they take.. so i've found it hard to compare that. I do know of some people trading 5 lots or so having major problems getting orders filled. It has been my experience that the alpari micro accounts trade slightly better than the classic ones too... were your two accounts you tested on the same account type or were they different?
Thanks for your input.  I was asking a hypothetical question as I couldn't figure out why people should open 2 accounts using the SAME EA and broker.
Since the micro works better, perhaps I should try 2 micros.

Sometimes just for a different based currency.......if u have 1 usd acct and 1 euro acct....what u lose on the exchange on 1 acct u should gain on the other ......plus the accts are only segregated for 5K after that its your loss..    ;)

regards fxloot

Offline admin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 473
    • donnaforex.com
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2009, 10:44:34 PM »
If you are in the UK and trading with Alpari UK you are covered for up to £48,000 out of £50,000 under the government backed compensation scheme... if Alpari were to go out of business and cannot pay your money back. If you are trading with Alpari UK but are not UK resident this doesn't apply though.
<b>Subscribe to my mailing list for updates, go to www.donnaforex.com</b>

Offline sweetpopcorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #21 on: May 13, 2009, 04:18:22 AM »
I have a few Alpari accounts running side by side with FAPTurbo on them and they rarely match up in the trades they take.. so i've found it hard to compare that. I do know of some people trading 5 lots or so having major problems getting orders filled. It has been my experience that the alpari micro accounts trade slightly better than the classic ones too... were your two accounts you tested on the same account type or were they different?
Is there a MAX limit for funds in a MICRO?

I discovered that the LATENCY is slightly better for the servers of Alpari MICRO.  I did a ping on both Micro and Classic servers.

Offline donnaforex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4276
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #22 on: May 13, 2009, 06:19:26 AM »
I have a few Alpari accounts running side by side with FAPTurbo on them and they rarely match up in the trades they take.. so i've found it hard to compare that. I do know of some people trading 5 lots or so having major problems getting orders filled. It has been my experience that the alpari micro accounts trade slightly better than the classic ones too... were your two accounts you tested on the same account type or were they different?
Is there a MAX limit for funds in a MICRO?

I discovered that the LATENCY is slightly better for the servers of Alpari MICRO.  I did a ping on both Micro and Classic servers.

I don't think so but i'm not sure. The only limit i am aware of is that you cannot trade above 2 lots.
Follow DonnaForex on Facebook and Twitter.
 
If you need to contact me, email admin@donnaforex.com or Skype 'donnaforex' or PM via the forum.

Offline Alex777

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #23 on: May 13, 2009, 11:27:00 PM »
Hi,
I discovered that i can not close my orders even manually(6 lots). I have tried to close it about 20 times in a row and i was getting re quotes every time so if i would accept it, there hardly any profit would be left. Also this is not a first time it is happening...week before iv'e tried to close orders twice with the same result.  >:( However as soon as i reducing risk problem evaporates.
So what account size and order size would you recommend to avoid this problem?

Thanks,

Alex


« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 08:58:17 AM by Alex777 »

Offline mike348

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2009, 08:51:59 AM »
I am experiencing the same thing. Very little unfortunately. A lot of it is down to lower liquidity at night, the need to add more liquidity providers and going through the dealing desk. Expect to see more liquidity providers added over time - that's probably your best bet.

Mentioned elsewhere is Dukascopy, probably the best retail firm re spread, liquidity and service but you need 50k and need to place the orders manually on their platform.

Michael

Offline donnaforex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4276
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2009, 12:29:50 PM »
Dukascopy & FApturbo would make a great combination, at very low risk of course.

With Alpari UK i notice the 'safest' size is at 2 lots or below to avoid requotes.
Follow DonnaForex on Facebook and Twitter.
 
If you need to contact me, email admin@donnaforex.com or Skype 'donnaforex' or PM via the forum.

Offline Wizz82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2009, 04:06:06 PM »

Hi Donna.

The bloke from Leicester `ere. I`m just about to quit Ezforexhost. I have 2 VPS providers, Ezforexhost and ForexVPS. Their (Ezforexhost) MT4 is to Build 220, their server is unreliable, consequently, with the SAME settings, ForexVPS trades much more and is also more accessible from an online chat point of view, what do you think?

Adam

Offline donnaforex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4276
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2009, 08:04:19 PM »
Yep i'm a big fan of ForexVPS and have absolutely no trouble recommending them to everyone. Their customer support is fantastic and what you get for the money is a good quality reliable server. I know a lot of people who have switched to Forex VPS have been surprised at the difference.


Follow DonnaForex on Facebook and Twitter.
 
If you need to contact me, email admin@donnaforex.com or Skype 'donnaforex' or PM via the forum.

Offline sweetpopcorn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #28 on: May 15, 2009, 09:48:36 PM »
Yep i'm a big fan of ForexVPS and have absolutely no trouble recommending them to everyone. Their customer support is fantastic and what you get for the money is a good quality reliable server. I know a lot of people who have switched to Forex VPS have been surprised at the difference.
How about Commercialnetworkservices VPS?  Any comments?

Offline donnaforex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4276
Re: Alpari UK
« Reply #29 on: May 16, 2009, 04:26:40 PM »
Someone posted a topic with the latency (connection speeds) which was quite revealing. CNS seem to pride themselves on their latency yet there were other services which performed better, much better. It depends on who your broker is. Here is the topic: http://www.donnaforex.com/forum/index.php?topic=230.0
Follow DonnaForex on Facebook and Twitter.
 
If you need to contact me, email admin@donnaforex.com or Skype 'donnaforex' or PM via the forum.

 

browse forum